Home | deutsch  | Department | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Master's Degree Geophysics at KIT

The two-year English-language Master's program in Geophysics comprises 120 credit points (LP) and offers a specialization in the fields of seismics and seismology, research areas for which the GPI has been known worldwide for more than 50 years. The courses are held entirely in English. The students come from various European and non-European countries.

Documents on the course of studies:

 

Contents of the Master's programme in Geophysics:

  • In the first year of study a specialization in seismics and seismology takes place. Our students can achieve optimal learning results through modern and innovative teaching methods in a stimulating international learning environment.
  • Elective subjects can be chosen individually during the first year of study, for example one of the geophysical in-situ lectures. In recent years, these lectures have taken our students to the volcanoes of the Aeolian Islands, the earthquake region of the Apennines, 800 m deep potash mines in Thuringia and Indonesia. In addition, further courses from the fields of physics, meteorology, geosciences, volcanology and related disciplines can be attended.
  • In the second year you will be fully integrated into one of the research groups in order to work on your Master's thesis and prepare yourself optimally for your future career in research and industry.

The structure of the programme is shown on the programme page.

 

Requirements for Access:

  • Bachelor's degree in geophysics or a course of study with essentially the same content in the amount of at least 180 LP according to the ECTS system
  • Minimum amount of credits in the fields of geophysics (20 course credits), physics (20 course credits), mathematics (20 course credits), with a minimum score of 20 ECTS points. If the applicant is missing course credits in geophysics, the applicant can still be admitted with additional course requirements.
  • The applicant did not lose the examination entitlement in geophysics or a related subject.
  • Proof of very good English language skills at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR), proven by
    • Cambridge Certificate: FCE, CAE or CPE,
    • International English Language Testing Service (IELTS); with a score of
      at least 6.0 points and no subtest worse than 5.0 points,
    • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL); with a score of at least
      72 points and at least the following scores in the individual sub-areas: 18
      reading (18), listening (17), speaking (20), writing (17),
    • Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC) with at least
      the following scores in the individual sections: listening (400), reading (385) or
    • the Abitur certificate (general qualification for university entrance),
      whereby the foreign language must have been taken for at least 5
      learning years up to the degree entitling the holder to university
      admission, and the final or average grade of the last two learning years of
      the language course must correspond to at least the German grade 4
      (sufficient) or at least 5 points.

In individual cases, other proofs may be accepted at the applicant's request. Alternative proofs are in particular:

  • a graduation certificate of an English-language course of study,
  • a higher education entrance qualification from institutions with English as a teaching language,
  • a bachelor thesis written in English.

 

Application:

International applicants: http://www.intl.kit.edu/istudies/3361.php

German applicants: https://www.sle.kit.edu/vorstudium/master-geophysik.php

 

After the online application, the applicant sends all documents by post to the KIT. It is not necessary to certify documents and certificates. Students can begin their Master's studies in either the winter or summer semester. However, due to the modular structure, applicants from outside the KIT are strongly recommended to start the Master's program in the winter semester. The application deadline for the winter semester is 30 September. Nevertheless, it is advisable to apply as early as possible by the end of July at the latest. Further information can be found under the following link: Information on the Master's Programme in Geophysics


The programme is not restricted in admission.


Recognition of achievements:

The recognition of academic achievements from within or outside the higher education system can be requested from the Vice-Chairman of the KIT Faculty Examination Board. Students are advised to contact the departmental student advisory service beforehand.

Home | english  | Fakultät | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Internationaler Masterstudiengang Geophysics am KIT

Der zweijährige englischsprachige Masterstudiengang Geophysics umfasst 120 Leistungspunkte (LP) und bietet eine Spezialisierung in den Bereichen der Seismik und Seismologie, Forschungsbereiche, für die das GPI seit über 50 Jahren weltweit bekannt ist. Die Lehrveranstaltungen werden vollständig in englischer Sprache durchgeführt. Die Studierenden stammen aus den verschiedensten europäischen und außereuropäischen Ländern.

Dokumente zum Studiengang:

 

Inhalte des Masterstudiengangs Geophysics:

 

  • Im ersten Studienjahr findet eine Spezialisierung in den Bereichen Seismik und Seismologie statt. Unter Einsatz moderner und innovativer Lehrmethoden und in anregender internationaler Lernatmosphäre können unsere Studierenden optimale Lernerfolge erzielen.
  • Individuell können im ersten Studienjahr zusätzliche Wahlpflichtfächer, zum Beispiel aus dem Bereich der geophysikalischen In-Situ-Vorlesungen belegt werden. In den letzten Jahren führten diese unsere Studierenden unter anderem zu den Vulkanen der Äolischen Inseln, in das Erdbebengebiet des Apennin, in 800 m Tiefe in Kalibergwerke nach Thüringen sowie nach Indonesien. Weitere Wahlpflichfächer aus dem Bereich der Geophysik umfassen die Wellenfeldinversion, die oberflächennahe seismische Erkundung, seismische Datenverarbeitung oder Naturgefahren und Risiken. Außerdem können weitere Veranstaltungen aus dem Bereich der Physik, Meteorologie, Geowissenschaften, Vulkanologie und verwandten Fachgebieten belegt werden.
  • Im zweiten Studienjahr werden Sie vollständig in eine der Forschungsgruppen integriert, um an Ihrer Masterarbeit zu arbeiten und sich optimal auf das spätere Berufsleben in der Forschung vorzubereiten.

Der Aufbau und Ablauf des Studiengangs ist auf der Studiengangseite dargestellt.

Zugangsvoraussetzungen:

  • Bachelorabschluss in Geophysik oder einem Studiengang mit im Wesentlichen gleichem Inhalt im Umfang von mind. 180 LP nach dem ECTS-System
  • Mindestleistungen in den Bereichen Geophysik (20 LP), Physik (20 LP), Mathematik (20 LP). Fehlen LP in Geophysik kann die/der Bewerber/in dennoch unter Auflagen zugelassen werden.
  • Kein Verlust des Prüfungsanspruchs in Geophysik oder einem verwandten Fach
  • Nachweis sehr guter Englischkenntnisse auf dem Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER), nachgewiesen durch
    • Cambridge Certificate: FCE, CAE oder CPE,
    • International English Language Testing Service (IELTS); mit einem Ergebnis von wenigstens 6,0 Punkten und keine Teilprüfung schlechter als 5,0 Punkte,
    • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL); mit einem Ergebnis von mindestens 72 Punkten und mindestens folgenden Punktzahlen in den einzelnen Teilbereichen: 18 reading (18), listening (17), speaking (20), writing (17),
    • Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC) mit mindestens folgen-den Punktzahlen in den einzelnen Teilbereichen: listening (400), reading (385) oder
    • das Abiturzeugnis, wobei die Fremdsprache über mindestens 5 Lernjahre bis zum Abschluss, der zum Hochschulzugang berechtigt, belegt worden sein muss und die Abschluss- oder Durchschnittsnote der letzten zwei Lernjahre des Sprachunterrichts mindestens der deutschen Note 4 (ausreichend) bzw. mindestens 5 Punkten entsprechen müssen.

Im Einzelfall können auf Antrag der Bewerberin/des Bewerbers andere Nachweise zugelassen werden. Alternative Nachweise sind insbesondere:

  • ein Abschlusszeugnis eines englischsprachigen Studiengangs,
  • eine Hochschulzugangsberechtigung aus Einrichtungen mit englischer Unterrichtssprache,
  • eine in englischer Sprache verfasste Bachelorarbeit.

 

Bewerbung:

Internationale Bewerber: http://www.intl.kit.edu/istudies/3361.php

Deutsche Bewerber: https://www.sle.kit.edu/vorstudium/master-geophysik.php

 

Nach der Online-Bewerbung werden vom Bewerber alle Unterlagen per Post an das KIT versandt. Eine Beglaubigung von Urkunden und Zeugnissen ist nicht notwendig. Der Beginn des Studiums im Masterstudiengang ist sowohl zum Winter- als auch zum Sommersemester möglich.  Aufgrund des modularen Aufbaus wird insbesondere Bewerbern von außerhalb des KIT ausdrücklich empfohlen, zum Wintersemester mit dem Masterstudiengang zu beginnen. Die Bewerbungsfrist für das Wintersemester endet am 30. September. Dennoch ist eine möglichst frühe Bewerbung bis spätestens Ende Juli ratsam. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter folgendem Link: Informationen zum Masterstudiengang Geophysics

Der Studiengang ist nicht zulassungsbeschränkt.

Anerkennung von Leistungen: Die Anerkennung von Leistungen, die innerhalb oder außerhalb des Hochschulsystems erbracht wurden, kann beim Vorsitzenden des Prüfungsausschusses der KIT-Fakultät beantragt werden. Den Studierenden wird empfohlen, sich vorher mit der Fachstudienberatung in Verbindung zu setzen.