Geophysical Institute (GPI)

KABBA: Test measurements with the stations of the Karlsruhe BroadBand Array in the basement of the Geophysical Institute

Black Forest Observatory (BFO): Observatory of the KIT and the Universität Stuttgart


The two research sections of the Geophysical Institute (GPI), the Applied Geophysics and the Geophysics, contribute to the KIT Centers in many ways, and are interconnected within KIT along several lines. Scientists of the GPI contribute to the Karlsruhe Geosciences Colloquium at KIT.

 

Seismisches Messprofil im Feld
Applied Geophysics

The research section Applied Geophysics focuses on the further development of seismic imaging methods and their application to shallow targets in environmental geophysics, as well as their application to the exploration of hydrocarbon reservoirs. The Applied Geophysics contributes to the KIT Centers Energy and Climate and Environment.

Seismologische Messdaten vom Orkan Kyrill
Geophysics

The research section Geophysics is divided into the main areas of seismology and the investigation of geological, geophysical natural hazards. The research branch Seismology deals with measuring, analysing and modelling of the seismic wave field. In research on geological natural hazards, the quantification of their impacts, their prognosis and early warning is important. The Geophysics contributes to the KIT Centers Energy and Climate and Environment.

Geophysikalisches Institut (GPI)

KABBA: Testmessungen mit den Stationen des KArlsruher BreitBand Arrays im Keller des Geophysikalischen Institus

Black Forest Observatory (BFO): Gemeinschaftsobservatorium des KIT und der Universität Stuttgart 


Die zwei Forschungsbereiche Angewandte Geophysik und Allgemeine Geophysik des Geophysikalischen Institutes (GPI) tragen auf vielfältige Weise zu den KIT Zentren bei bzw. sind mit diesen über mehrere Ebenen vernetzt. Das GPI fördert das Karlsruher Geowissenschaftliche Kolloquium am KIT.

 

Seismisches Messprofil im Feld
Angewandte Geophysik

Der Forschungsbereich Angewandte Geophysik beschäftigt sich mit der Weiterentwicklung von seismischen Abbildungsverfahren und deren Anwendungen auf Fragestellungen der Umweltgeophysik und Reservoirerkundung. Er trägt so zu den KIT Zentren Energie sowie Klima und Umwelt bei.

Seismologische Messdaten vom Orkan Kyrill
Allgemeine Geophysik

Der Forschungsbereich der Allgemeinen Geophysik gliedert sich in die Schwerpunkte der Seismologie und der Erforschung geologischer, geophysikalischer Naturgefahren. Die Seismologie beschäftigt sich mit der Messung, Analyse und Modellierung von seismischen Wellenfeldern. Bei der Erforschung der geologischen Naturgefahren ist die Quantifizierung ihrer Auswirkungen, die Prognose von Naturgefahren und deren Frühwarnung von Bedeutung. Die Allgemeine Geophysik trägt zu den KIT Zentren Energie sowie Klima und Umwelt bei.