Geophysical Institute (GPI)
Students as of WS 15/16: Students as of WS 19/20:


Recognition of achievements: The recognition of achievements within or outside the higher education system can be requested from the Vice-Chairman of the KIT Faculty Examination Board. Students are advised to contact the departmental student advisory service beforehand.

Stays abroad: KIT is a member of the Eucor network, the European Campus. This enables KIT students to participate in courses at Eucor universities without additional fees. Stays at other universities can also be realized. It is also possible to conduct individual courses abroad, such as the professional internship or writing the bachelor thesis. Furthermore, it is possible to spend an entire semester abroad and take elective courses there. Further information on stays abroad can be obtained from Prof. Dr. Bernd Pilawa at the KIT Faculty of Phyics. A blank form for a learning agreement can be obtained from the KIT-Faculty Examinations Board. For advice on which lectures to choose, please contact the study advisory service geophysics who also can arrange contacts to students who already have experience with stays abroad.

Study models with an individual study pace: Different life circumstances of the student may require a flexibilization and individualization of the conditions of studying and teachings. Students who need specialized support during the first semesters can participate in courses at the MINT-Kolleg Baden-Württemberg. In the case of qualified participation, up to two semesters are not attributed to the standard period of study. Students with additional capacities, on the other hand, can obtain a Bachelor's degree in Geophysics with a Bachelor's degree in Physics as a parallel course of study with little additional effort. It is recommended that students who participate in one of these study models contact the study counselling service at an early stage.

Internship: The contact person for the internship (organisation, implementation, internship report, confirmation of the internship report) is Dr. Hertweck. Please inform him by e-mail about the location, the institution and the planned period of your internship before starting it. The duration of the internship is 8 LP (college credits). 30 hours per college credit correspond to 240 hours for organizing, applying for and carrying out the internship, as well as for reworking and preparing the internship report. Estimating a 30-40 h week, the duration of the internship can be about 3-4 weeks. The actual duration should be coordinated before the internship is carried out. Further information, also on possible internship locations, can be found in the module manual.

Bachelor thesis: The prerequisite for admission to the Bachelor thesis is that the student is in his/her third academic year and has successfully passed module examinations of 100 college credits from special subjects, defined in more detail in the SPO. Bachelor theses can be written within all research fields of the GPI. Further information, including registration and deadlines, can be found in the module handbook.

In-Situ courses: The teaching format was developed at the GPI. During In-situ courses current geophysical questions are examined directly on site (in situ). The course consists of a preparation phase in the lecture room, in which the theoretical basics are taught. Students also become active themselves and demonstrate their acquired knowledge with short presentations. In the second part of the course, teaching units will be held on site by GPI lecturers or external specialists. In addition, the students work on exercises and give seminar talks right at the location of the research object. The in-situ course is brought to a conclusion with a written summary or final exercise. In-situ courses for students in the Bachelor's programme are regularly offered for trips to the BFO, Strasbourg, geothermal plants in the region and in the Oberrheingraben. Further courses can be attended as Master's precedence (link to Master's precedence below). For example, they take students to Indonesia (seismology, natural hazards), to the Aeolian Islands (hazard assessment), to the volcanic landscapes of the Eifel and Vogelsberg, to Thuringia (induced seismicity) or to large-scale tunnel construction projects (Fildertunnel, Gotthard Base Tunnel, Karlsruhe Tunnel project).

Master's precedence: In order to allow students a smooth transition from Bachelor's to Master's studies at KIT, students who have already earned at least 120 credit points in their Bachelor's studies can acquire additional college credits (graduate credits) from the consecutive Master's course in Geophysics at KIT with a maximum of 30 ECTS points. The designated exams are listed in the Master's Precedence Examination Account. Achievements for Master's precedence are not included in the determination of the overall-, subject- and module grades. They are listed in the Transcript of Records of the Bachelor's certificate with grades and marked as achievements for the Master's precedence. In order to offer students the highest possible specialized flexibility, there is no obligation to credit the advanced grades when beginning their Master's studies at KIT. However, recognition is guaranteed upon application to the examination board.

Geophysikalisches Institut (GPI)
Studierende ab WS 15/16 Studierende ab WS 19/20

 

Anerkennung von Leistungen: Die Anerkennung von Leistungen, die innerhalb oder außerhalb des Hochschulsystems erbracht wurden, kann beim stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden des Prüfungsausschusses der KIT-Fakultät beantragt werden. Den Studierenden wird empfohlen, sich vorher mit der Fachstudienberatung in Verbindung zu setzen.

Auslandsaufenthalte: Das KIT ist Mitglied im Eucor-Verbund, dem europäischen Campus. Das ermöglicht den Studierenden des KIT, an Lehrveranstaltungen der Eucor-Universitäten ohne gesonderte Gebühren teilzunehmen. Aber auch Aufenthalte an anderen Universitäten können realisiert werden. Es ist zum einen möglich, einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen, wie zum Beispiel das Berufspraktikum oder die Bachelorarbeit, im Ausland durchzuführen. Des Weiteren gibt es die Möglichkeit, ein Semester im Ausland zu verbringen und dort unter anderem Wahlpflichtfächer zu belegen. Weitere Auskünfte zu Auslandsaufenthalten erteilt an der KIT-Fakultät Prof. Dr. Bernd PilawaBeim Prüfungsausschuss erhalten Studierende einen Vordruck für ein Learning Agreement. Für die fachliche Beratung zur Auswahl von Veranstaltungen im Ausland wenden Sie sich bitte an die Studienberatung Geophysik, die auch Kontakte zu Studierenden vermitteln kann, welche bereits Erfahrungen mit Auslandsaufenthalten gemacht haben.

Studienmodelle individueller Geschwindigkeit: Unterschiedliche Lebensumstände der Studierenden erfordern eine Flexibilisierung und Individualisierung der Bedingungen von Studium und Lehre. Studierende, die in den ersten Semestern fachliche Unterstützung brauchen, können an Kursen des MINT-Kollegs Baden-Württemberg teilnehmen. Bei einer qualifizierten Teilnahme bleiben bei der Anrechnung auf die Regelstudienzeit bis zu zwei Semester unberücksichtigt. Studierende mit zusätzlichen Kapazitäten hingegen können mit geringem Mehraufwand einen Bachelorabschluss in Geophysik mit einem Bachelorabschluss in Physik als Parallelstudium realisieren. Es wird empfohlen, im Falle einer Teilnahme an einem dieser Studienmodelle frühzeitig die Fachstudienberatung in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Berufspraktikum: Ansprechpartner für das Berufspraktikum (Organisation, Durchführung, Praktikumsbericht, Bestätigung des Praktikumsberichts) ist Dr. Hertweck. Bitte informieren Sie ihn vor Antritt des Berufspraktikums per E-Mail über den Ort, die Institution und den geplanten Zeitraum ihres Praktikums. Der zeitliche Umfang des Praktikums beträgt 8 LP. Mit 30 Stunden pro LP ergeben sich damit 240 h für das Organisieren, Bewerben und Durchführen des Praktikums, sowie für Nacharbeiten und das Anfertigen des Praktikumsberichtes. Als Richtwert kann bei einer 30-40 h Woche die Praktikumsdauer 3-4 Wochen betragen. Vor der Durchführung des Praktikums sollte der tatsächliche Umfang abgestimmt werden. Weitere Informationen, auch zu möglichen Praktikumsstellen, finden Sie im Modulhandbuch.

Bachelorarbeit: Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zur Bachelorarbeit ist, dass die/der Studierende sich in der Regel im dritten Studienjahr befindet und Modulprüfungen im Umfang von 100 LP aus bestimmten, in der SPO näher definierten Fächern erfolgreich abgelegt hat. Bachelorarbeiten können in allen Forschungsgebieten des GPI angefertigt werden. Weitere Informationen, auch zu Anmeldung und Abgabefristen, finden Sie im Modulhandbuch.

In-Situ-Lehrveranstaltungen: Das Lehrformat wurde am GPI entwickelt. Bei In-Situ-Lehrveranstaltungen werden aktuelle geophysikalische Fragen vor Ort (in situ) untersucht. Die Lehrveranstaltung besteht aus einer Vorbereitungsphase im Hörsaal, in der die theoretischen Grundlagen vermittelt werden, Studierende aber auch selbst aktiv werden und das erarbeitete Wissen in Kurzpräsentationen vorstellen. Im zweiten Abschnitt der Lehrveranstaltung werden vor Ort Lehreinheiten von Dozenten des GPI oder von externen Experten durchgeführt. Die Studierenden bearbeiten am Ort des Untersuchungsobjekts außerdem Übungsaufgaben und halten Seminarvorträge. Die In-Situ-Lehrveranstaltung wird mit einer schriftlichen Reflexion oder Abschlussaufgabe abgeschlossen. Für Studierende im Bachelorstudiengang  werden regelmäßig In-Situ-Lehrveranstaltungen an das BFO, nach Straßburg, zu geothermischen Anlagen in der Region und in den Oberrheingraben angeboten. Weitere Lehrveranstaltungen können im Mastervorzug (Link zu Mastervorzug unten) besucht werden. Sie führen Studierende beispielsweise nach Indonesien (Seismologie, Naturgefahren), auf die Liparischen Inseln (Gefährdungsabschätzung), in die Vulkanlandschaften der Eifel und des Vogelsbergs, nach Thüringen (Induzierte Seismizität) oder zu Tunnelgroßbauprojekten (Fildertunnel, Gotthard-Basistunnel, Karlsruher Kombilösung).

Mastervorzug: Um Studierenden einen möglichst reibungslosen Übergang vom Bachelor- ins Masterstudium am KIT zu ermöglichen, können Studierende, die im Bachelorstudium bereits mindestens 120 LP erworben haben, zusätzliche LP aus dem konsekutiven Masterstudiengang Geophysics am KIT im Umfang von höchstens 30 ECTS-Punkten erwerben. Die dafür vorgesehenen Prüfungen sind im Prüfungskonto Mastervorzug aufgelistet. Die Mastervorzugsleistungen gehen nicht in die Festsetzung der Gesamt-, Fach- und Modulnoten ein. Sie werden im Transcript of Records des Bachelorzeugnisses mit Noten aufgeführt und als Mastervorzugsleistungen gekennzeichnet. Um den Studierenden eine höchstmögliche fachliche Flexibilität zu bieten, besteht bei Aufnahme des Masterstudiums am KIT keine Verpflichtung zur Anrechnung der vorgezogenen Leistungen. Eine Anerkennung ist den Studierenden jedoch auf Antrag beim Prüfungsausschuss garantiert.